ALP vs ZYN: Moist vs Dry, Strengths and Flavors
ALP’s own FAQ describes its flagship pouch as “perfectly moist” and contrasts it with dry pouches; ZYN describes its classic pouch as dry. Beyond texture the two brands also split on strength, can size and how much fruit they carry. Here is each, from the brands’ own pages.
ALP vs ZYN Side by Side
| Spec | ALP | ZYN |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | ALP Supply Co. (Turning Point Brands) | Swedish Match North America (PMI) |
| Strengths (mg per pouch) | 3 / 4 / 6 / 8 / 9 / 12 | 1.5 / 3 / 6 / 8 / 9 / 11 |
| Lowest / highest | 3 mg / 12 mg | 1.5 mg / 11 mg |
| Pouches per can | 20 (ALP, Drifters) / 15 (Frontier) | 15 (ZYN) / 20 (ZYN Ultra) |
| Flavors published | 15 | 21 |
| Fruit and citrus flavors | Tropical Fruit, Frontier Sunset Mango, Drifters Island Peach, Drifters Blueberry Lemonade Ice, Drifters Mango Freeze, Drifters Lemon Raspberry, Drifters Watermelon Kiwi Ice | Black Cherry, Peach, Dragonberry, Citrus, ZYN Ultra Citrus Zest |
| Mint, wintergreen and menthol options | 3 | 10 |
| Nicotine source (brand’s own words) | "leaf-free" / "tobacco-free nicotine"; not stated as synthetic or tobacco-derived | "pharmaceutical-grade nicotine salt"; not stated as synthetic or tobacco-derived |
| Pouch format and moisture | ALP "perfectly moist"; Drifters "semi-moist"; Frontier not stated | ZYN dry; ZYN Ultra "hydro-boosted" |
| How it is sold | 5-tin sleeves, 20-tin and 50-tin packs; no single tins | Sold through retailers; the site does not sell direct |
| FDA marketing orders | No products on FDA’s authorized nicotine pouch list (list current as of 2026-08-21, checked 2026-10-18). | On FDA’s authorized list: 20 classic ZYN products (10 flavors at 3 and 6 mg, order 2025-01-16) and 11 ZYN ULTRA products (order 2026-08-21). The 20 classic products also hold an FDA modified risk order (2026-06-30). Classic ZYN at 1.5 and 8 mg and the fruit flavors are not on the list. |
| Checked | brand site, 2026-09-17 | brand site, 2026-09-17 |
Strengths, counts and flavor names are read from each brand’s own site on the date shown. The FDA row is read from FDA’s list of authorized nicotine pouch products (current as of 2026-08-21, checked 2026-10-18); FDA states that an authorization does not mean a product is safe or “FDA approved.”
ALP and ZYN at the Same Strength: Flavors by mg
Every strength either brand publishes, and the flavors each one sells at that strength. Rows marked “both” are where you can compare like for like.
| mg per pouch | ALP | ZYN |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 mg | — | Cool Mint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Wintergreen, Menthol, Citrus, Cinnamon, Coffee, Smooth, Chill |
| 3 mg both | Chilled Mint, Mountain Wintergreen, Refreshing Chill, Tropical Fruit, Sweet Nectar, Spearmint, Classic | Cool Mint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Wintergreen, Menthol, Citrus, Cinnamon, Coffee, Smooth, Chill, Black Cherry, Peach, Dragonberry |
| 4 mg | Frontier Cowboy Coffee, Frontier Sunset Mango, Frontier Campfire Cinnamon | — |
| 6 mg both | Chilled Mint, Mountain Wintergreen, Refreshing Chill, Tropical Fruit, Sweet Nectar, Spearmint, Classic, Drifters Island Peach, Drifters Blueberry Lemonade Ice, Drifters Mango Freeze, Drifters Lemon Raspberry, Drifters Watermelon Kiwi Ice | Cool Mint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Wintergreen, Menthol, Citrus, Cinnamon, Coffee, Smooth, Chill, Black Cherry, Peach, Dragonberry |
| 8 mg both | Frontier Cowboy Coffee, Frontier Sunset Mango, Frontier Campfire Cinnamon | Cool Mint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Wintergreen, Menthol, Citrus, Smooth, Chill |
| 9 mg both | Chilled Mint, Mountain Wintergreen, Refreshing Chill, Tropical Fruit, Sweet Nectar, Spearmint, Classic | ZYN Ultra Citrus Zest, ZYN Ultra Peppermint Frost, ZYN Ultra Wintergreen Blast, ZYN Ultra Arctic Mint, ZYN Ultra Fresh Spearmint, ZYN Ultra Menthol Ice, ZYN Ultra Chill Mist, ZYN Ultra Signature Smooth |
| 11 mg | — | ZYN Ultra Citrus Zest, ZYN Ultra Peppermint Frost, ZYN Ultra Wintergreen Blast, ZYN Ultra Arctic Mint, ZYN Ultra Fresh Spearmint, ZYN Ultra Menthol Ice, ZYN Ultra Chill Mist, ZYN Ultra Signature Smooth |
| 12 mg | Chilled Mint, Mountain Wintergreen, Refreshing Chill, Tropical Fruit, Sweet Nectar, Spearmint, Classic, Drifters Island Peach, Drifters Blueberry Lemonade Ice, Drifters Mango Freeze, Drifters Lemon Raspberry, Drifters Watermelon Kiwi Ice | — |
ALP vs ZYN: Texture, Ladder and Fruit
Moist against dry. ZYN describes its classic pouch as dry and its Ultra pouch as “hydro-boosted”. ALP describes its flagship as “perfectly moist” and its Drifters fruit line as semi-moist. Moisture is one of the factors that changes how quickly flavor and nicotine come through; the brands describe it, they do not publish a measurement.
Strength steps. ALP’s flagship seven flavors each come at 3, 6, 9 and 12 mg. ZYN reaches 9 and 11 mg only through ZYN Ultra, a separate set of eight varieties. So an ALP Spearmint is available at 12 mg, while the strongest classic ZYN Spearmint is 8 mg and the next step up is a differently named Ultra can.
Fruit, cans and packs. ALP has eight fruit-family flavors: Tropical Fruit, Frontier Sunset Mango, and five iced Drifters fruits at 6 and 12 mg. ZYN has three fruit flavors at 3 and 6 mg. ALP and Drifters cans hold 20 pouches and Frontier cans 15; classic ZYN holds 15 and Ultra 20. ALP sells no single tins, only 5-tin sleeves and bigger boxes, and ZYN’s site sells nothing direct.
ALP or ZYN: Which Specs Match What You Want
ALP fits if:
- You find dry pouches slow and want one described as moist.
- You want fruit at 12 mg (Drifters).
- You want every flagship flavor at four strengths, 3 to 12 mg.
ZYN fits if:
- You prefer a dry pouch, or want 1.5 mg.
- You want a product on FDA’s authorized list.
- You buy single cans at a store rather than 5-tin sleeves.
Full flavor lists: ALP flavors and strengths · ZYN flavors and strengths.
JuiceKold Nicotine Pouch Specs Next to ALP and ZYN
JuiceKold Nicotine Pouches come in 8 flavors (Polar Menthol, Cool Mint, Wintergreen, Clear, Juicy Peach, Strawberry Watermelon Ice, Pink Lemonade, Mango Ice), each at 6mg, 9mg, 12mg, 20 pouches per can, sold in rolls of 5 cans (5-can minimum, mix any flavors and strengths), no tobacco leaf. Strengths in common with ALP: 6 and 9 and 12 mg. With ZYN: 6 and 9 mg. Not on FDA’s authorized nicotine pouch list.
JuiceKold Nicotine Pouches are available to order on juicekold.com at $6.99 per can (regular $8.99), sold in rolls of 5 cans ($31.45 per roll after 10% off), shipped from Dallas, TX to adults 21+.
ALP vs ZYN: Common Questions
Q.01Is ALP a moist pouch and ZYN a dry pouch?
By each brand’s own description, yes: ALP calls its flagship pouch “perfectly moist” and Drifters semi-moist; ZYN calls its classic pouch dry and ZYN Ultra “hydro-boosted”.
Q.02Is ALP stronger than ZYN?
ALP’s flagship line reaches 12 mg; ZYN’s highest is ZYN Ultra at 11 mg. ZYN goes lower, to 1.5 mg, where ALP starts at 3 mg.
Q.03How many pouches are in an ALP can vs a ZYN can?
ALP and ALP Drifters: 20. ALP Frontier: 15. Classic ZYN: 15. ZYN Ultra: 20.
Q.04Who makes ALP?
ALP Supply Co., part of Turning Point Brands, which also makes FRE. ZYN is made by Swedish Match, part of Philip Morris International.
Sources: ALP FAQ: flavors, strengths, count, packs, moisture · ALP ALP product specs · ALP Frontier specs · ALP Drifters specs · ZYN all products · ZYN per-flavor strengths and count · ZYN ZYN Ultra · ZYN FAQ: pouches per can, nicotine · ZYN dry vs hydro-boosted · FDA authorized nicotine pouch list. Specs change; each brand’s site is the authority on its own products. More comparisons: ZYN vs VELO · ZYN vs Rogue · ZYN vs on! · FRE vs ALP · VELO vs Rogue · VELO vs VELO Plus · ZYN alternatives · best nicotine pouches compared.